www www.sarbloh.info
Information Site Map Glossary Articles Sanatan Skhs Sanatan Sikh Scriptures Sanatan Sikh Gurus Universal Faith The Truth Introduction
The Multifarious Faces of Sikhism throughout Sikh History
Page 1 of 3

Bhai Daya Singh Samparda

Time of origin: early 1700s

This is one of the traditional Sikh ‘Taksals’ (schools) of ‘Dam Dama’ (originated by the hands of Akali Nihang Guru Gobind Singh) of Nirmala origin. Today, it is also known as ‘Rara Sahib Samparda’ and is based at Jarg Sahib Gurdwara.

Gurdwara Jarg Sahib
Base of the 'Rara Sahib Samparda', near Ludhiana

One particular Nirmala tradition holds that Akali Nihang Bhai Daya Singh, author of Akali Nihang ‘Rehitnama’ (code of conduct), was sanctioned by Nirmala Guru Gobind Singh to initiate his own order of Nirmalas Sikhs. (Here it has to be stated that the tenth Guru is seen as both a Nirmala and an Akali Nihang for he possessed the attributes of both depending on circumstance).

Creation of the Khalsa
Akali Nihang Guru Gobind Singh ji creates the 'Khalsa' at Anandpur Sahib. Modern Sikhs
wish to believe that the Guru decapitated the heads of the 'Panj Piyarey' (5 Beloved Ones) and placed
them back on the bodies, whereas Sanatan Sikhs and ancient Sikh texts state that goats were decapitated

Thus, in the early 1700s, the foundations of the Nirmala ‘Baba Daya Singh Samparda’ were laid. The illustrious ‘Sant’ (saint) leaders of this Samparda are as follows.

1. Bhai Daya Singh
2. Baba Sobha Singh
3. Baba Sahib Singh Bedi
4. Baba Bhag Singh
5. Baba Bir Singh Ji of Nurangabad
6. Baba Khuda Singh/Baba Maharaj Singh
7. Baba Ram Singh Ji
8. Baba Karm Singh Ji Hoti Mardan
9. Baba Aeya Singh/Baba Attar singh Reru Sahib
10. Baba Bhagwan Singh/Baba Ishar Singh/Baba Kishan Singh
11. Baba Mohinder Singh/ Baba Bhupinder Singh

The present leader of this great Sikh philanthropic institution is Baba Bhupinder Singh.

Baba Bhupinder Singh Ji
Present head of the 'Baba Daya Singh Samparda'

Page 1